The 9/11 Cancer Latency Periods

September 11th Cancer Latency Period

The latency period for cancer is defined as the amount of time that elapses between the initial exposure to a carcinogen and the diagnosis of cancer. If you were diagnosed with cancer after 9/11 but before the latency period for that particular type of cancer, the World Trade Center Health Program will determine that your cancer was not caused by toxic exposure from 9/11 and you will not be eligible for compensation or medical treatment.

Latency Periods Are Based On Type Of Cancer

The World Trade Center Health Program and the Environmental Protection Agency determined minimum latencies for the following five types or categories of cancer:

  • Mesothelioma – 11 years. If you are filing a claim for mesothelioma, you must have been diagnosed no earlier than 11 years after September 11, 2001, to be eligible for compensation.
  • Solid cancers (not including mesothelioma, lymphoproliferative, thyroid and childhood cancers) – four years
  • Lymphoproliferative and hematopoietic cancers (including all types of leukemia, lymphoma and multiple myeloma) – 146 days
  • Thyroid cancer – two and a half years
  • Childhood cancers (excluding lymphoproliferative and hematopoietic cancers) – one year

Contact Our 9/11 VCF Cancer Claim Lawyers Today

At Weisfuse & Weisfuse, LLP, our attorneys take prompt action to help our clients seek justice. Compensation can address years of costs related to cancer. If you believe that your cancer is a result of injuries or exposure from 9/11, call us at 212-983-3000 or contact us to schedule a free consultation.

Go to Top